my invisible text
Categories
  • TIMELINE

What to buy: small jobs

<<

1 Star Contributor

Post Thu Jul 29, 2004 7:39 am

What to buy: small jobs

Yes, it's time for another "What should I buy?" question.

My situation: I'm a graphic designer who sells her own line of clothing and gifts. I plan on adding car decals to the "gifts" list these would be as small as 2" x 3". I also plan on cutting thermal vinyl to apply on garments (I own a heat press already).

I'd like something that:
works with Illustrator (or can at least take eps files)
is reliable
can produce curves well

And preferably:
is quiet
connects with a USB

Concerns I have:
Is there really a difference between a "stepper motor" and a "servo" motor?

How often to blades wear out and have to get replaced?

I've been looking at a Roland Stika 15 or their 24" one but I'm not sure I need to go so much higher in price for something that isn't my main business.

Any and all thoughts are appreciated!
<<

5 Star Contributor

Post Thu Jul 29, 2004 9:21 am

Generally a stepper motor works in discrete fixed "steps" , however these can be VERY small and approximate curves to all intents and purposes , IE if you take a diagonal line going from the lower left to the upper right , you can do it by going one step up and one along. Big steps will look like a staircase and not a line , a zillion small steps will look like a line.
A non stepper motor essentially does zillions of "steps" and it actually interpolates the line properly.