my invisible text
Categories
  • TIMELINE

64inch Printer UV / Solvent, recommendations please?

<<

Wayne Maxwell

1 Star Contributor

Post Fri Jan 11, 2019 12:40 pm

64inch Printer UV / Solvent, recommendations please?

Hi all hope everyone has had a good start to the new year.

Im in the market for a new 64inch printer and laminator to match.

Just looking any recommendations on machines if anyone has advice.

Im interested in the new Mimaki UV with white ink. Although ive been using Rolands for the past 15 years.

Thanks for reading :-)
<<

Lee Reeves

3 Star Contributor

Post Fri Jan 11, 2019 4:38 pm

Re: New 64inch Printer UV / Solvent

We’ve had a Mimaki UCJV300-160 for around 6 months and had a few issues that are still on going and hybrid are working on sorting them. We have found it uses a lot of ink compared to our roland xr60 especially the yellow. White is very good but the ink only has around 4 months max expiry date so if you don’t do that much printing with white it will go out of date and the printer will stop until it’s replace just something to bear in mind as it uses 2 x 1lt bottles of white @ £130+vat each.
<<

David Hammond

Premium Member
Premium Member

Post Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:04 pm

We purchased a Seiko Colourpainter about 3 years ago.

I was set on upgrading to another Roland, however when we popped down for a demo, the Seiko blew us away.

Speed, quality, the density of the ink, the build quality*. Over 3 years we've had no problems. Relatively maintenance free.

* OK the opitcal eye for the take up looks like and after throught, there's no automatic cross cut, but the actually machine is built like a tank.
<<

Neil Danley

1 Star Contributor

Post Fri Jan 11, 2019 6:23 pm

Hi Wayne, I purchased The Epson 80600 (with White Ink) a few months back now and i love it! Never have had any problems with it. Very impressive i would recommend having a demo or viewing some samples.