my invisible text
Categories
  • TIMELINE

Cutting small text and detail for sandblasting stencils.

<<

Mal Turton

Post Sun Mar 12, 2017 10:53 am

Cutting small text and detail for sandblasting stencils.

Hi all,

I'm just getting into sandblasting and need to cut quite small (5mm ish) text and fine detail using regular sign vinyl which works great as a sandblasting mask.
I'm using a GCC puma which cuts great normally but struggles with the small stuff. To be fair it does have a cheapy blade in it. Iv'e tried altering settings, force is 90gm, altering speed doesn't seem to make much if any difference.
So a couple of questions if anyone can help:

The cutter has tangential mode emulation, would that make a difference ?
Would a "smart knife" help and if so would I be better with a 60deg one ?

Any other tips on cutting small stuff would be great. :smiles:

Thanks
Mal
<<

Daniel Evans

Premium Member
Premium Member

Post Sun Mar 12, 2017 12:02 pm

Re: Cutting small text and detail for sandblasting stencils.

If I'm doing fine stuff, I use the red smart blade, slow the speed down and make sure the pressure/force is absolutely perfect, I don't bother with tangential mode
<<

Robert Lambie

Post Sun Mar 12, 2017 3:21 pm

As Daniel says, Slow the machine down and Pressure needs to be spot on...
The blade needs to be sharp or no matter what you do with the pressure, it will chew the tiny text up.

The Tangental mode WILL help and this is one of the reasons its used amongst various others.
Most cutters use a blade DRAG mode which is because it spins within its holder. so as the machine drags left and right, the pin blade simply rotates in the holder.