my invisible text
Categories
  • TIMELINE

Hello from Braintree, Essex

<<

Post Wed Sep 10, 2014 2:21 pm

Hello from Braintree, Essex

Hi all, been viewing as a guest for ages and clearly an absolute wealth of info available from you all - its been so handy at times, thankyou.

So I figured time I joined!

Anyway - I'm a graphics professional, but have been producing stickers (mainly automotive) on the side for a few years now... which i always got a third party to output for me - via Gerber edge (I needed spot colour inc metallics).

So after 4 years I finally purchased my own set up (second hand), to allow me not only to produce in house but also to play around with what is and isn't achievable with the edge.
Getting on ok so far.... but I do have a couple of questions - if anyone is able to help!

Foils - is there any noticeable difference in quality between brands?

Vinyl - I've previously had stuff output to Metamark 7 - But a client wanted Scotchcal 100 - so i got a quote from Spandex on Scotchcal 220 - and nearly fell of my seat!!! It's astronomical (or certainly as a new customer they are quoting top dollar!) Is this price variation really worth it (i'll pay it if it is) or can anyone recommend a longer term vinyl that produces super result on the edge?

Lastly (for the moment!) My Edge is not an FX - can anyone tell me how much better the FX is over the Edge one LE (loading foild etc aside)- Mine appears to be printing perfectly from what I can tell but it isn't quite as good on fine detail / strokes as I would ideally like. For instance on small copy it could be better.... hence wondering if I use Scotchcal plus a Gerber brand foil it will improve?? Im aware it has a 300x600 option and I wonder how much better this proves - 99.9% of what I print is spot vector.

Any info or advice specific to the above or Gerber edge in general greatly appreciated! including suppliers if we are allowed to name drop?
Regards Rob
<<

3 Star Contributor