Categories
  • TIMELINE

Question on photo size / resolution for wall covering

<<

2 Star Contributor

Post Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:48 pm

Question on photo size / resolution for wall covering

Hi all,
A client wants for cover a few of the walls of his establishment. He has chosen various images form image libararies on the internet. One of the wall measures 9000mm x 2500mm. The image he has chosen for this wall is 10" x 6.7" @ 300dpi . will this image be suitable? what is the minimum I can expect to be able to use so it still looks good?
What advice to you give your clients about downwloading images for this purpose...
Thanks
<<

5 Star Contributor

Post Thu Feb 28, 2013 3:03 pm

Might be something of help in this thread Clive?
https://www.uksignboards.com/viewtopic.php?t=57457
<<

Premium Member
Premium Member

Post Thu Feb 28, 2013 3:09 pm

Clive i'm no expert on digital print but there are a few things that make a difference from what I have read, firstly viewing distance makes a big difference to the resolution, further you are away the lower the resolution needs to be for it to look good.
Images at this sort of size are always going to be more difficult to get right but something that I know some on here use to scale up images is photozoom pro ( I know Shane uses it) Works far better than any of the image enlargement tools in programs such as photoshop.
When I have had to scale up a picture & wasn't sure if it would turn out alright I have scaled the image up to the size I required & then cropped & printed a very small bit of it just to check on quality.
<<

L-Gold Member
L-Gold Member

Post Thu Feb 28, 2013 3:43 pm