my invisible text
Categories
  • TIMELINE

whats the difference between these two materials?

<<

L-Gold Member
L-Gold Member

Post Wed Oct 15, 2003 5:43 pm

whats the difference between these two materials?

Can anyone tell me the difference between perspex cast acrylic sheet and plain film extruded acrylic sheet?

I'm fairly new to this game and wondered why there was such a price difference between them.

Many Thanks

Dave Arch
<<

5 Star Contributor

Post Wed Oct 15, 2003 8:28 pm

Cast is liquid methylacrilate that is poured between 2 sheets of glass seperated by a rubber gasket to make the thickness. This is then autoclaved for days to cur , the material is made of long polymer chains and the chains rea rando , thus the material is more resistant to stress than extruded and epands uniformly acroos width and breadth.

Extruded is the same , however the methylacrilate is mixed with a hardner and extruded out of a slit and then rolled between polished steel rollers to give the surface sheen,
This is a short chain material and is thus far more stressed especially if worked , heated , bent or subject to solvent attack - it crazes easily. It stretches more along the direction its extruded and is far better in respect of thickness tolerances. A lot cheaper to make and used where structural integrity is not required.
The way to test to see which is which is to burn a piece , cast burns with a crackly flame and doesnt drip molten flaming globs , extruded does drip and burns with a silent flame.
For a laser , extruded cuts eaiser and doesnt frost when engraved. , it also engraves with a cutter with a "clear" cut.
We work almost exclusively in Cast despite the + and - 10-15% thickness tolerance except in short term or non critical items.