my invisible text
Categories
  • TIMELINE

SOS Vehicles

<<

5 Star Contributor

Post Thu Dec 02, 2004 1:28 pm

SOS Vehicles

I had to go and open my big mouth as usual didn't I! After saying I haven't done that many vans, I've just been asked to quote for 10 transit vans.

Initially I was asked to quote on one, and with a rough idea of what he wanted, I quoted £250 as its a fairly simple design with a small digital print on either side of the vehicle. He said, thats fine, we have 10 of them. Would there be a quantity discount?

:o :o Once I'd picked myself up off the floor, I said I would have to work it out for him, so I arranged for him to call in the shop later this afternoon and I'd have a written quote for him.

How the devil do I do this one? I've worked out my design costs, minused it from the cost of the first van, times it by 9 and added the original van cost back on, but its coming in at over £2k! :o What do I do? I've never done anything of this scale before (I can almost hear John Childs laughing as he reads this :lol1: ). Do I minus off a set percentage? Or is the way I've done it correct? Obviously I'll only be doing 1 design, so it seems silly to add the design cost onto every vehicle, but then again should I be spreading the design cost over all 10?

Talk about being flustered! :roll: Its a lot different to quoting for anything I've done before, but it has proved one thing, my Thompson Local advert has worked after 7 days of being out there! :D

Any advice you can offer would be very much appreciated as I'm well aware that alot of you do this type of work routinely.

Cheers, Dewi
<<

5 Star Contributor

Post Thu Dec 02, 2004 1:35 pm