my invisible text
Categories
  • TIMELINE

Home Made Production Software

<<

Julius Tinker

Post Mon Jul 28, 2014 12:29 am

Home Made Production Software

About 10 months ago I got a position at a sign company as a prodcution manager at a fairly new sign company here were I live. We searched high and low for software that we could use to price and quote signs. After about two weeks of looking at different software we landed on a cheap excel spreadsheet software and needless to say it didnt do the job.

I looked at it and thought to myself, we just spent money on this.....why. Im a software engineer im pretty certain i could do a better job. So my project began. It started off as a simple flash estimator but i quickly realized that data entry would be a big problem and the language itself was not enough to support my plans of implementing a full crm.

So i scrapped the entire thing and about a months worth of programming to start anew in php & mysql. That was about 9 months ago. There was a giant middle ground in the software that I noticed it was either pay big bucks for what you need or pay a smaller fee for pretty something not so great.

When I am done i plan to release the cloud system that I designed for my shop for free. I attached some screenshots of the progression.
So far the current build of the software handles Invoicing, Estimation, Full CRM, Inventory Control, Accounting, Production Job Board, Reports along with a bunch of other features. Interestingly enough I got an offer to be bought out by another sign estimation company a few moths ago when i began to flesh the thing out and said that I was releasing it for free. But I decided to go against it and continue with my original plan.
Attachments
Personal.jpg
Personal
Reports.jpg
Reports
production.jpg
Production
invoice_calculate.jpg
Estimation
invoice_add.jpg
Add Invoices
Invoice.jpg
Invoices
calander.jpg
Calander
Bills.jpg
Bills
accounting_journal.jpg
Accounting Journal
accounting.jpg
Accounting