my invisible text
Categories
  • TIMELINE

which cutter for small letters, advice please?

<<

Post Mon May 06, 2013 11:59 pm

which cutter for small letters, advice please?

HI
I'm quite new to vinyl and cutting staff so don't have much knowledge.
All I know is that I need to replace my Silhouette cameo with something much better.

I got myself a contract for Aston Martin decals in plain colour.
The letters are quite thin and only 8mm high.
I have tried to cut them with my current cutter and it's a no no.
I had read for a past week about vinyl cutters and it's not surprise i can't do it on my cutter as it's run on mechanical steppers.

So, looks like at my budget £1300 inc. vat. (I will only buy brand new machine) I'm looking at Graphtec CE6000-60 and Roland gx24
I'm more convinced on Graphtec as it's so quite and more people recommend this machine on the forums.

Will this machine be good for the job I need to do?
I have attached picture of what I need to cut out in a solid colour vinyl.

Your help will be appreciated.
Regards
Thomas

[Mod-edit Please read board rules]
Attachments
Aston_Martin_logo.png
<<

Post Mon May 13, 2013 10:54 pm

Roland and Graphtec cutters are both very good.
that size of text will need the machine run in Tangental mode for more accurate cuts.
<<

Post Mon May 13, 2013 11:02 pm

Robert Lambie wrote:Roland and Graphtec cutters are both very good.
that size of text will need the machine run in Tangental mode for more accurate cuts.

Does Graphtec got this mode?
I know it might be a stupid question but I'm just started to learn.

Is there a book or something for me to have to understand the basics of cutting vinyl you could recommend?
I was reading about blades, angels etc. which I have no clue what so ever :oops:
<<

Post Mon May 13, 2013 11:30 pm

I might be wrong, but most of the high end brands of cutter will have this mode or a watered down version of the mode. either way it will be capable in that mode.