my invisible text
Categories
  • TIMELINE

How many suppliers do you use?

<<

5 Star Contributor

Post Sat Jan 05, 2013 11:06 pm

How many suppliers do you use?

I mean for things like substrate boards, vinyl, application tape etc. I'm new to all this and the amount of different suppliers is quite mind boggling. I think i could end up going back and forth for days between them all comparing prices etc.
How many different suppliers do you all use for your main purchases or do you prefer sticking to just one?
<<

Premium Member
Premium Member

Post Sat Jan 05, 2013 11:59 pm

It's not always possible to stick with just one Ewan, reason for that maybe as simple as them not stocking all the brands that you prefer to use. Comparing prices is ok but I tend not to buy on price alone, what I mean by that is that I like a certain brand of vinyl & wouldn't swap to another brand to save a few bob, same with application tape both paper & clear.
Probably not a good idea to put all your eggs in one basket either, having a couple of suppliers for me is a good idea but I also wouldn't go mad & have loads lol
<<

5 Star Contributor

Post Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:29 am

Not really basing my decisions on price as i certainly do not want to stock "cheap" products. I think i'm just confusing myself with all the different suppliers and brands. I'm pretty much set on substrate material but they dont offer a huge range in vinyl so thats what i'm on to now. Trying to make a basic price list that i can work from.

The vinyl stock i bought is mostly Andersons but i can't seem to find much about it. Is it an older make maybe?
<<

4 Star Contributor

Post Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:39 am

we use two suppliers for most things,we compare prices between the two to get best value,other companys send us weekly offers and some times we buy those but would have to have a track record with the product not just buy it on price.price is important but dealing with companys that offer good service is a must.
<<