my invisible text
Categories
  • TIMELINE

can anyone help please with photoshop clipping paths?

<<

1 Star Contributor

Post Tue Sep 26, 2006 9:41 am

can anyone help please with photoshop clipping paths?

I'm trying to export images from 'Photoshop' using the clipping path tools so i can place them into 'Illustrator' & 'Corel 12'.. All i ever seem to get is the outline of the image.. I'm looking to place these documents without a white backround!!

Any suggestions?? Help...
<<

5 Star Contributor

Post Tue Sep 26, 2006 11:26 am

Hi Greg,
I'm self taught in photoshop so this might be the long way round but here goes. Open image in photoshop, highlight and delete the white background so there is no white there. If this doesn't work, file new set as transparent, go back to original image, select white background, select inverse to highlight the image and drag and drop into new transparent background. Save as photoshop file and then import into coreldraw.

Hope this makes sense

Cheers John
<<

4 Star Contributor

Post Tue Sep 26, 2006 12:38 pm

Greg,

One other way as follows (am using CS2 but assume similar for earlier verison):

Highlight what you want in photoshop using magic wand or whatever, press CTRL + J - this will bring your highlighted selection into a separate layer with transparency.

Open the PSD file in Illustrator, make sure you import all layers and dont flatten (otherwise you won't have transparent layer). Check layer pallete in Illustrator, and highlight the correct layer that you are after (in photoshop you could always delete any layers that you dont need before you save, and then only bring in the one required layer needed into Illustrator.).

Hope helps.

Martin
<<

2 Star Contributor

Post Tue Sep 26, 2006 1:25 pm

Hi, if you're trying to save a file with an actual clipping path and not a PSD file with a transparent background here's the general gist: